5 tips that you should consider when you align your webshop internationally

With the alignment of an eCommerce offer to different countries and languages, there are a lot of tasks that an eCommerce manager has to consider.

  • Translate product data and categories into the respective target languages
  • Align SEO marketing internationally
  • Convert shop system to multilingualism
  • Check the module extensions for compatibility
  • Coordinate and optimize shipping and logistics

However, the special features of customer data abroad are often forgotten.

Here are 5 tips on how you should correctly enter addresses for domestic and foreign countries:

  1. Observe mandatory data for different countries

In many countries, addresses have a different address format. In Great Britain, for example, the postal code consists of 2 parts. The first part is the city/region, the second part is the more precise address. For smaller English towns, the county in question is included in the address. 

The situation is similar in the Netherlands. Here opposite houses on different sides of the street have different postal codes.

Give your customers the possibility to store the corresponding data for all countries and label the fields accordingly. Otherwise the data will be entered randomly and various fields will be misused. This often leads to chaos in your merchandise management system.

  • 2. multilingual countries

Many European countries are multilingual. In Belgium, for example, Dutch, French or German is spoken in some areas.

Offer customers the possibility to change the language of the webshop or forms within a country. Although you can query and automate some things via the browser settings, a manual selection and override should still be possible. Google Translate is not active everywhere and may not always be the best way to translate product descriptions. For this we recommend rather professionals, like our colleagues from Eurotext in Würzburg.

3. optimize your registration forms

Customer data is the oil of eCommerce. The better your customer data and the 360-degree view of your users, the more you can respond to them and tailor your offer to their needs.

To do this, you should design the input fields as optimally as possible and perhaps consider using hidden fields to store additional information such as the shop language, user origin or device information (desktop, mobile tablet). As few fields as possible, as many as necessary, is the motto, according to the DSGVO guidelines for data economy. It is therefore worthwhile to plan your marketing activities per country and to compare them with the collected data in advance.

4. enrich data - avoid unnecessary fields

You can often do without input and have the contents of individual fields filled automatically. The federal state, in many countries a mandatory field, and e.g. in the USA necessary for tax calculation, can be quickly read from the address and determined by yourself. The international telephone number area code can also be easily determined from the country selection and entered accordingly. This makes it easier to enter the number and reduces the number of incorrect entries/doublets.

5. normalize data and eliminate duplicates

Address data with different spellings from the same customer are often stored via different channels. Especially in multichannel, or in new German Omnichannel Commerce, via different touchpoints to the customer, this happens very often. This leads to costs for double addressing by mail or e-mail and annoys your customers, who receive everything twice.

An example:

Mr. Müller calls the call center and places an order.

The customer support employee searches for the customer, does not find it, and creates it. Communicating the address over the phone is not so easy, and quickly "-" spaces, or street, str. or street are entered randomly.

The days of a single email address are long gone, and quickly the same customer registers in the webshop, this time with correct spelling and different email.

If he then places an anonymous order in the store, without a customer card and a query in the system, duplicates are already pre-programmed. If the customer could also be sent the invoice by e-mail or asked for the address or telephone number, it might be easier to merge the two.

By means of intelligent business rules and address matching, identical customers could be found and cleverly merged. The more customer addresses a merchant has, the higher the savings potential. A necessary process, especially for multinational companies.

More tips and tools for problem solving are of course available from us. For B2C and B2B dealers.


Robert

Robert is a freelance e-commerce consultant and project manager since 2002. His expertise includes mobile apps as well as responsive websites for small companies and large corporations. As managing director of Endereco, Robert is responsible for product development and customer contact.

Leave a Reply

Extract of our customers

    References

    Copyright Endereco UG (haftungsbeschränkt) - Company for Master Data Quality Management
    2014 - 2020

5 Tipps die du beachten solltest, wenn du deinen Webshop international ausrichtest

Mit der Ausrichtung eines eCommerce Angebotes auf verschiedene Länder und Sprachen, gibt es eine Vielzahl von Aufgaben, die ein eCommerce Leiter beachten muss.

  • Produktdaten und Kategorien in die jeweiligen Zielsprachen übersetzen
  • SEO Marketing international ausrichten
  • Shopsystem auf Mehrsprachigkeit umstellen
  • Prüfen der Modulerweiterungen auf Kompatibilität
  • Versand und Logistik abstimmen und optimieren

Doch häufig werden die Besonderheiten der Kundendaten im Ausland vergessen.

Hier sind 5 Tipps, wie du die Adressen für das In- und Ausland richtig erfassen solltest:

  1. Pflichtangaben für verschiedene Länder beachten

Adressen haben in vielen Ländern ein anderes Adressformat. In Grossbritannien z.B. besteht die PLZ aus 2 Teilen. Der erste Teil bezeichnet die Stadt/Umgebung, der Zweite die genauere Adresse. Bei kleineren engl. Orten wird die betreffende Grafschaft in der Anschrift mit angegeben. 

In den Niederlanden ist es ähnlich. Hier haben gegenüberliegende Häuser auf verschiedenen Straßenseiten eine unterschiedliche Postleitzahl.

Gib deinen Kunden die Möglichkeit, für alle Länder die entsprechenden Daten zu hinterlegen, und beschrifte die Felder entsprechend. Sonst werden die Daten zufällig eingegeben und verschiedenste Felder werden missbraucht. Das führt häufig zu einem Chaos in deinem Warenwirtschaftssystem.

  • 2. Mehrsprachige Länder

Viele europäische Länder sind mehrsprachig. In Belgien z.B. wird in manchen Gebieten Niederländisch, Französisch oder Deutsch gesprochen.

Biete den Kunden auch die Möglichkeit, innerhalb eine Landes die Sprache des Webshops oder der Formulare zu wechseln. Du kannst zwar über die Browser-Einstellungen so Einiges abfragen und automatisieren, eine manuelle Auswahl und Übersteuerung sollte dennoch möglich sein. Google Translate ist nicht überall aktiv und vielleicht nicht immer die beste Art, Produktbeschreibungen zu übersetzen. Dafür empfehlen wir eher Profis, wie z.B. unsere Kollegen von Eurotext aus Würzburg.

3. Optimiere deine Registrierungsformulare

Kundendaten sind das Öl des eCommerce. Je besser deine Kundendaten und der 360 Grad Blick auf deine Nutzer, desto mehr kannst du auf die Kunden eingehen und dein Angebot auf ihre Bedürfnisse abstimmen.

Dafür solltest du die Eingabefelder so optimal wie möglich gestalten und vielleicht überlegen, über Hidden Fields erweiterte Informationen wie gesetzte Shopsprache, Herkunft des Users oder Geräteinformationen (Desktop, Mobile Tablet) zu speichern. So wenige Felder wie möglich, so viele wie notwendig, lautet die Devise, ganz nach den DSGVO-Vorgaben zur Datensparsamkeit. Daher lohnt es sich, seine Marketing Aktivitäten je Land zu planen, und mit den erhobenen Daten vorzeitig abzugleichen.

4. Daten anreichern – unnötige Felder vermeiden

Oft kannst du auf Eingaben verzichten und Inhalte einzelner Felder automatisiert befüllen lassen. Das Bundesland, in vielen Ländern Pflichtfeld, und z.B. in den USA notwendig zur Steuerberechnung, lässt sich schnell aus der Anschrift herauslesen und selbst ermitteln. Die internationale Rufnummern-Vorwahl lässt sich auch leicht aus der Länderauswahl ermitteln und entsprechend vorgeben. So erleichterst du die Eingabe und reduzierst vermeidbare Fehleingaben/Doubletten.

5. Daten normieren und Doubletten eliminieren

Oft werden Adressdaten mit verschiedenen Schreibweisen vom gleichen Kunden über verschiedene Kanäle hinterlegt. Gerade im Multichannel, oder neudeutsch Omnichannel Commerce, über verschiedene Touchpoints zum Kunden, passiert das sehr gerne. Das führt zu Kosten für doppelte Ansprache per Post oder E-Mails und nervt zudem deine Kunden, die alles doppelt erhalten.

Ein Beispiel:

Herr Müller ruft über das Call Center an und gibt eine Bestellung auf.

Der Mitarbeiter im Kundensupport sucht den Kunden, findet ihn nicht, und legt ihn an. Die Adresse über das Telefon mitzuteilen ist nicht so einfach, und schnell werden “-” Leerzeichen, oder Straße, Str. oder Strasse nach Zufallsart eingegeben.

Die Zeiten einer einzigen E-Mail Adresse sind schon lange vorbei, und schnell registriert sich der gleiche Kunde, diesmal mit korrekter Schreibweise und anderer Email im Webshop.

Wenn er dann noch in der Filiale eine Bestellung anonym tätigt, ohne Kundenkarte und Abfrage im System, sind Duplikate schon vorprogrammiert. Wenn man dem Kunden die Rechnung auch per Email zukommen lassen könnte, oder ihn nach der Adresse oder Rufnummer fragen würde, wäre ein Zusammenführung vielleicht schon wieder einfacher möglich.

Über intelligente Business Regeln und Adressabgleiche könnte man so, identische Kunden finden und geschickt zusammenführen. Je mehr Kundenadressen ein Händler besitzt, desto höher ist das Einsparpotential. Gerade für multinationale Unternehmen ein notwendiger Prozess.

Mehr Tipps und Tools zur Problemlösung gibt es natürlich bei uns. Für B2C und B2B Händler.


Robert

Robert ist seit 2002 freiberuflicher E-Commerce Consultant und Projektmanager. Sowohl Mobile Apps als auch Responsive Webseiten für kleine Firmen und große Konzerne gehören zu seiner Expertise. Als Geschäftsführer von Endereco ist Robert für die Produktentwicklung und den Kundenkontakt zuständig.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Auszug unserer Kunden

    Referenzen

    Copyright Endereco UG (haftungsbeschränkt) - Gesellschaft für Master Data Quality Management 2014 - 2019